Select language
Firefighter placing an ISO fuel identification placard on a fire truck. Photo: CTIF Finland

Extrication and New Technology

The CTIF Commission for "Extrication and New Technology" is trying to encourage and promote the cooperation between fire services and other emergency services around the world.

The commission is working within the ‘ISO’ (International Organization for Standardization) and other international stakeholders to be able to internationally harmonize information and training for the rescue services in the field.

If we can share our experiences on the international level, this will help us all one step further to guarantee the security of our citizens and emergency workers. The more we can learn from each other, the better.

The international commission is thematically active in three working fields:

  1. Extrication & Road Safety (UN Decade)
  2. Energy Storage Systems (batteries, solar panels, ...)
  3. Smart Tech (robots, self-driving cars, data transmission, ...)

The philosophy of the commission is mentioned in the scheme below: innovation requires the necessary flow of information regarding the product and the installation, to come to efficient rules and the dissemination of knowledge.




Mikko Saastamoinen, FinlandChair of the Commission:

Mikko Saastamoinen, Finland

Mikko is an officer in the South Karelian Rescue Department is a recognized trainer, both at home and abroad, in road rescue and new vehicle technologies.




Michel Gentilleau1.st 1st Vice chair Michel Gentilleau , France





Mark Bokdam2nd vice chair Mark Bokdam, The Netherlands



Project leaders:

ISO 17840 : Tore Eriksson
EuroNCAP : Michel Gentilleau
Extrication: Mikko Saastamoinen

Overview of the Commission

  • Kick-off: December 2013
  • Chairman: Mikko Saastamoinen (appointed October 2021)
  • Project Leaders:
    • ISO: Tore Eriksson
    • Euro NCAP: Michel Gentilleau
    • Solar Panels: Tore Eriksson
    • Extrication: Mikko Saastamoinen
    • Drones in Emergency Services: Mark Bokdam
    • Solar panels: TBA / Ongoing projects

Commission meeting in France 2016, during local technical days
Commission meeting in France 2016, during local technical days


  • Meetings: 2 face-to-face meetings every year.
  • Member countries:
    • Belgium: Tom Van Esbroeck, Willy Tomboy
    • Netherlands: Mark Bodam
    • Sweden: Tore Eriksson, Johannes Stromberg, Martin Arvetsson
    • Austria: Roman Sykora
    • Italy: Emanuel Pianese
    • France: Serge Delauney, Michel Gentilleau, Adrien Zanotto, Claire Petit-Boulangier
    • Portugal: Antonio José M.N. Calinas
    • Germany: Frank Huesch, Ruediger Knoll, Ivana Kordoba-Kruijff
    • Czech Republic: Martin Zaitlik , Jakub Klucho
    • Finland: Mikko Saastamoinen
    • Poland: Jacek Gawronski
    • Denmark: Henrik Paulsen
    • Slovenia: Milan Dubravac
    • Japan: Hirochi Fukushi
    • Luxemburg: Michel Demuth, François Christnach
    • UK: Thomas Goodall
    • Norway: Ingar Hallingdal